At Year’s End

I always feel kind of a combination of hopefulness and melancholy the week between Christmas and New Year’s Day. There’s this giant build up to Christmas, then a lull for a week, then another giant build up to the New Year. I typically spend this in between time reflecting on the year past and praying and planning for the year ahead.

I’m praying really hard that 2022 is kinder, gentler, and much more positive than its two older siblings, 2020 and 2021.

This week I’m spending a lot of time in prayer and planning (with the guidance of the Holy Spirit). The past several years I have veered so far off track from my plans and goals that I couldn’t find my way back. Have you had years like that?

My biggest goal for 2022 is to remain rooted in God’s Word and to follow His lead rather than running off on my own before I have time to verify plans with Him.

I recently reread the story of Esau selling his birthright to Jacob for a bowl of stew. I have thoughts about that, about how we sell our Kingdom birthright for things here and now. I’ll have more to say about that another time.

How do you spend the last week of the year? Do you spend significant time in reflection and planning? How do you set goals for a new year? Do you write your goals out? With a plan?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.