2022: The Year of Stewardship

stewardship

stoo-erd-ship, styoo– ]SHOW IPASee synonyms for stewardship on Thesaurus.com📙


noun

the position and duties of a steward, a person who acts as the surrogate of another or others, especially by managing property, financial affairs, an estate, etc.the responsible overseeing and protection of something considered worth caring for and preserving:New regulatory changes will result in better stewardship of lands that are crucial for open space and wildlife habitat.

Several years ago I unintentionally began the practice of assigning a word for the new year. I honestly never wanted to do that. I thought it sounded a little too simplistic to try to boil a new year down to one word. Of course, sometimes I lose focus over the course of the year. 2021 was a good example of that.

However, during the last quarter of 2021 I renewed my passion to do the hard personal work and really zero in on the important things. After prayer and some super honest personal reflection my focus for 2022 is stewardship. And not just financial stewardship, though that is a huge piece. I’m also focused on what stewardship looks like for my time, energy, health, talent, as well as physical possessions.

Do you set an intention for the new year? I’d love to know what you’re focusing on in 2022?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.