National Novel Writing Month

Happy November! Or National Novel Writing Month. Or NaNo.

During November thousands of people around the world write like mad to accrue 50,000 words by the 30th. I’m one of those, this year.

Way back in 2014 I completed this challenge. I’ve sort of half-heartedly tried in years since, but just didn’t do it. This year I decided to really put forth the effort. I’m happy to say that I am on track to complete 50K words by the end of the month.

My main goal this year is to get back into the habit of daily writing. So far, I’ve written at least a few hundred words every day. One day last week I wrote over 3K. I need a couple more days like that, lol.

I want to keep this momentum going into December. I want to have a completed rough draft by December 7th. Then I’ll take a couple of weeks off to work on something else, maybe some short stories. Then start rewriting. And trust me when I tell y’all what I’m writing this month is truly word vomit and will require a total rewrite-not just a couple of rounds of editing.

However, I’m building something I can work with.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.